Thirroul capped off a superb season in the District League Youth Grade by claiming an emphatic 6-0 victory against University on Friday night.

The Thunder led by two goals at the break before scoring their final four goals in a lethal final half hour at Ian McLennan Park.

Marksman Stuart Forbes netted a first-half brace, scoring goals in the third minute and the 27th.

The opener came following a goalkeeping error which allowed Forbes to profit off a unselfish cutback to tap home from close range.

Thirroul celebrating a goal from Stuart Forbes.

The second came from a scramble in the box from a corner with the striker roofing the ball into the top of the net.

Tyler Adams came close to scoring Thirroul’s third with a long-distance free kick in the 32nd minute, however, University goalkeeper Anshuman Raut managed to parry the ball away.

University had a half chance in the final seconds of the opening period with Max Kay’s shot deflecting off a defender before being saved by Luke Netting.

In the 61st minute, Thirroul put the game beyond doubt by bagging a fourth through Ted Kelly who received the ball on the edge of the box before lashing it past and outstretched Raut.

Ten minutes later, the Thunders scored another goal from a corner, this time Noah Biddulph was the player to force the ball over the line.

In the final few minutes of the match Thirroul added further salt to the Students’ wounds with Cael Gallagher and Jason Donkin finding the back of the net.

Player of the match Tyler Adamns with Men’s Premiership Football Councillor Alan Maidman.

The grand final trophy was the second piece of silverware lifted by Thirroul after the John Cropper’s side secured the league title.

Thirroul Thunder 6 (Stuart Forbes 3′ 27′, Ted Kelly 61′, Noah Biddulph 72′, Cael Gallagher 81′, Jason Donkin 90′)

University FC 0

Player of the match: Tyler Adams (Thirroul Thunder)

Thirroul Thunder: 1. NETTING Luke, 2. BIDDULPH Noah, 3. LO CASTRO Tommi, 4. WESTBROOK Jonty, 5. GALLAGHER Cael, COTTERILL Jack, 7. RIEDY Euan, 8. OVERTON Grant, 9. FORBES Stuart, 10. ALLEN Lucas, 11. ADAMS Tyler

Substitutes (unlimited interchange): 12. ROUSE Cooper, 13. KELLY Ted, 14. HAMPTON Macauley, 15. DONKIN Jason, 16. INZINGER

University FC: 31. RAUT Ashuman, 39. STAFFORD Riley, 38. HOLLIDAY Tom, 47. STANDEN Craig, 42. KAY Max, 6. CORACI Jamieson, 44. LLOYD Tom, 40. JAMES-HEARNE Miki, 25. DJOMANI-OUSMANE Yahya, 43. ALLEN Mitch, 35. MCKAY Ethan

Substitutes (unlimited interchange): 50. PHILLIPS Tom, 22. CICCA Nathan, 49. DOWLING Henry, 46. BEGG Jack, 45. LOOSZ Dean. 46. PEEVER Luke

Date: Friday, 21 October 2022

Venue: Ian McLennan Park, Kembla Grange

Referee: Hayden Michlmayr

Assistant Referees: Damien Delovski and Lachlan Dividson

Fourth Official: John Rusica

Report by Dylan Arvela, on Twitter @dylanarvela

Photos courtesy of Pedro Garcia

Notice board

OFFICE HOURS: Monday to Friday 10am to 5pm

Searching for Clubs?

Find clubs, club contacts, field locations and more in our clubs directory. 


Get social

Upcoming Events