Gerringong claimed their maiden grand final trophy in the Men’s Premiership with a 2-0 victory against league champions and reigning grand final winners Thirroul.

Thirroul lost only a single match throughout the regular season with that defeat coming to runners-up Gerringong.

However, this time the Breakers inflicted a deeper wound with Harry Connell inspiring his side to a victory on a hot afternoon at WIN Stadium.

Thirroul had the best opportunity of the opening stages when a deep freekick from Jack Cotterill ended with Euan Riedy who was unable to direct his shot on target.

The Breakers had a penalty shout waved away in the 17th minute, but soon after they worked their first big chance when a crafty run from Connell nearly unlocked the Thirroul backline.

Mackinley Page and Stuart Forbes both saw half chances go astray before Connell opened the scoring the the 43rd minute.

The winger dribbled the ball into the left of the area before placing his shot across goalkeeper Josh Williams and into the bottom right corner.

Gerringong’s Lucas Zerafa had two chances in the early stages of the second half with the first coming after Williams was dispossessed on the edge of the box and the second a near-post effort that was saved.

Forbes came close to heading in an equaliser in the 72nd minute while Riedy had another effort that saw a smothering save from Dylan McDonald.

The Breakers finished the Thunder off in the 88th minute when Noah Goodsell found the bottom left corner with a lovely drive from 20 metres out.

Thirroul Thunder 0

Gerringong Breakers 2 (Harry Connell 43′, Noah Goodsell 88′)

Player of the Match: Harry Connell (Gerringong Breakers)

Thirroul Thunders: 1. Joshua Williams, 2. Sebastian Lourenco, 3. Noah Biddulph, 4. Cooper Rouse, 5. Jonty Westbrook, 6. Jack Kotteill, 7. Euan Riedy, 8. Lucas Allen, 9. Stuart Forbes, 10. Ted Kelly, 11. Cale Gallagher

Substitutes (unlimited interchange): 12. Mackinley Page, 13. Lennon Harp Cass, 14. Raul Siljeg, 15. Alexander Attorre, 16. Euan Williams, 17. Sebastian Gibbs

Yellow Cards: Lucas Zerafa 76′, Byron Osgood 79′

Red Cards: Nil

Gerringong Breakers: 23. Dylan McDonald, 33. Noah Goodsell, 35. Tyrian Bnney, 37. Finian Croft-Trollop, 38. Elijah Dabelstein, 40. Lucas Zerafa, 41. Keegan Kulcsar, 44. Byron Osgood, 45. Harry Connell, 49. Jacob Carney, 50. Cooper Holbrow

Substitutes (unlimited interchange): 39. Quooyarm Dingo-Donovan, 43. Hunter McLachlan, 46. Jarvis Turk, 51. Matthew Graham

Yellow Cards: Stuart Forbes 76′, Mackinley Page 90+2′

Red Cards: Nil

Date: Saturday, 16th October 2023

Venue: WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Referee: Casey Flemming

Assistant Referees: Sam Hall and Byron Lawler

4th Official: Damien Dennelly

Report by Dylan Arvela, on Twitter @dylanarvela

Photos by Graham Brown

Notice board

OFFICE HOURS: Monday to Friday 10am to 5pm

Searching for Clubs?

Find clubs, club contacts, field locations and more in our clubs directory. 


Get social

Upcoming Events